Shelbi

Don Imus’ Comment (and My Contribution to It).

In Uncategorized on September 26, 2010 at 11:24 pm

I think that everyone that is anyone that is black remembers where they were when Don Imus embarrassed himself on his own radio show by “describing” a team of mostly black female basketball players. And I can almost bet you my lunch money that we can also remember what we said after we heard him saying. Most of those things I rather not mention, but after the smoke cleared and I heard the comment for about the 100th time in a week (thank you, CNN) I had another view that I’m certain many people would disagree with.

It’s partly my fault that Don Imus’ said what he said.

Just to be totally honest here, my friends know me for having quite the potty mouth. And in a (very) comfortable setting, I have been known to toss out the “N word” in between periods and pauses; and not just in front of my black friends either. No, I have become a part of the typical pool of African Americans who believe, whether it is fair or not, that the “N word” is a word that we can say and you can’t (if you aren’t African American). So with my white counterparts listening to me tell a story from my life experiences or maybe even relay what I saw on television that day, you can almost bet that they are hearing me use the “N word”. So what’s the big deal w/ that and how in the hell does that have anything to do with Imus? Let me explain.

“Hey ho how ya doin, where ya been?/Prolly doin ho stuff cuz there you ho again/Its a ho wide world, that we livin in/feline, feminine, fantastical, women”

And I won’t say whose song that is, because basically, I love that song and the artist.

But getting back to Don, when you look at lyrics like that and then realize that you are reading what some would call a “mild” example of how often “hoes” are portrayed in the media, your (assuming you are an African American) first question after hearing his comment should not have been “Oh my goodness, where in the world did Don get that kind of language from?” The answer is, unfortunately, he got it partly from you. And I would even go so far as to say that it’s not what was said, but obviously who had said it. If Steve Harvey had of gotten on his radio station and said the same thing, I can guarantee you that no one would have thought twice to correct him because its “ok when we do it to ourselves”, which is obviously wrong.

Don Imus, being the old ignorant fart that he is, did not make a “racial slur” so much as he perpetuated a comment that has been said so many times by the exact same type of people who were the victims in this case. Watch any episode of The Game on BET (or the CW) and you will see black women calling each other hoes and bitches through out, and no one is losing their job over it. But when we see our racially private descriptions of ourselves being repeated by a stereotypical white man, he’s immediately racist. There is a problem with that.

Don Imus’ was totally wrong for what he said, but he isn’t racist and he certainly isn’t the only one to blame in this situation. Take responsibility for the fact that sometimes, white people are just repeating what we say to each other. Maybe it will make us stop saying it ourselves.

Leave a Reply

